Daily Archives: June 4, 2008

my house is gone

Cherry Revel Bars
Oh my dear blogging friends, my dream house sold yesterday. I knew it would happen someday, but I was hoping beforehand that the 1.3 million dollars I’d need to buy it would magically appear in my lap. Alas, it didn’t, so someone else will get to enjoy my little piece of paradise.

It’s a good thing I lost the recipe for these cherry revel bars that I made last week with the last of our cherries. Because if I had them, I’d pull out the frozen cherries and make it all over again and eat away my disappointment. See? It’s cookies like this that mess up my ‘eat mostly plants‘ philosophy. Because all I want to do is ‘eat mostly cookies.’

Melinda has a great post on 10 Steps to Living Locally today. Check it out if you have a moment.

3 Comments

Filed under musings, recipes

What are you doing to eat more plants?

green and purple

So what are you doing to eat more plants? We all know we need to eat more of them, we’ve read about it and seen it. But how do you actually incorporate it into your everyday life? More salads, more stir fries? Have you ever tried a green smoothie?

We go through phases. A week or so where we’ll do really good at incorporating plants into our day and we’ll feel good. Lighter, healthier, a bit more bounce in our step. Then we are tempted to have on teeny, tiny bite of chocolate chip cookie, and then another, and next thing you know we’ve eaten that as well as the rest of the dozen and we’re back on the pasta, meat, and sweets train and we go back to feeling heavy and slow.

Luckily the bounty of this late spring garden is helping us. How can you not eat all of this wonderful mustard, lettuce, radishes, broccoli and collard greens? That’s one good thing about having a garden. No excuses not to eat the healthy stuff, it’s right outside your backdoor. And if you leave it go to bolt then you feel like a heel for not eating it in time.

So how do you eat more plants?

mustard

13 Comments

Filed under in the kitchen, state of the garden