Daily Archives: February 26, 2009

How to Make Handmade Hand Lotion (w/ label download)

How to Make Hand Lotion

An Important Post Update on using Preservative with this Lotion

I had always been a little intimidated with the idea of making handmade toiletries, such as lotions, lip balms and the such. First of all, I thought I’d need all sorts of expensive ingredients. I thought it would take a lot of time, that I’d need all sorts of special pots to melt things in. Maybe I’d need to remember back to my high school chemisty class, which I just barely passed. I thought maybe I’d need to check out a book on Alchemy at the library and maybe even wear a flowing gypsy skirt and over-sized rings just for good measure.  I just thought making lotions and potions was just much too involved for all that I already had going on in my life.
How to Make Hand Lotion
However I was getting really fed up with the store bought lotion. My youngest son has eczema which means that we have to lube him up with lotion on a regular basis (Need help with eczema? Try this new whipped shea butter recipe I figured out.) Have you noticed on most of the store bought lotion that they have a poison warning on the back? Yes, if ingested, call poison control. Besides the fact that my two year old puts everything in his mouth already, I really didn’t like the idea that what I was putting on his skin everyday was worthy of calling poison control. If you skin is your largest organ, shouldn’t we worried about this? The all-natural store bought lotion was too expensive to buy for how much we go through, so I had to find an alternative.

Enter this hand lotion recipe (below) that I found on TipNut last fall and you know what? It’s easy. Ridiciously easy. Would you believe me if I said that I now make my own all natural hand lotion in less that five minutes with only four ingredients for less than a dollar a jar? And that it works maybe even better than anything I’ve bought? Seriously. This recipe is amazing. Now that I’ve given a jar to almost every single person I’ve come in contact with, I feel safe to share the recipe with you. And now you can go make some for yourself and everyone you know.
Hand Lotion Ingredients

How to Make Homemade Hand Lotion

1 1/4 cup hot water
1/4 cup emulsifying wax (Don’t use beeswax, here’s an easy homemade beeswax lotion recipe)
1/4 cup olive oil
24-36 drops essential oilTips on using a preservative

I buy my emulsifying wax  & essential oils from Mountain Rose Herbs. For $7 you get enough emulsifying wax to make many more batches of homemade hand lotion. In a pyrex measuring glass I combine the olive oil and emusifying wax and microwave for 1 minute until it is all melted. The temperature on this reads about 155 degrees.
How to Make Hand Lotion
I have found that our coffee mugs hold almost exactly 1 1/4 cup of water, so I fill is up and microwave that for 1 minute or until about 120 degrees. While that is heating up, I add the essential oil into my melted wax/olive oil mixture.
How to Make Hand Lotion
Then pour the hot water into the wax/olive oil mixture and watch it turn milky white. At this point the temperature is about 125 degrees. I then pour the hot lotion into wide mouth pint size jars and let cool overnight. The next morning you’ll have a fresh jar of homemade natural hand lotion!
How to Make Hand Lotion
Oh and of course, you’ll need decorative labels to put on your jars, which you can download here. Remember, when you print these out onto Avery Sticker Project Paper in Adobe Reader, it often automatically reduces the size of the original document, make sure that you click on the setting to print these at full size. These labels fit on the wide mouth pint jars. Enjoy your new soft skin!
HandLotion.jpg

If you’d like to make this with a ‘Woodland Walk’ scent follow my tutorial here.

Make sure to read on How to Make Your Own Deodorant too!

If you are looking to make this as Christmas gifts, you might want to check out my new Christmas Labels too!

Pin It

488 Comments

Filed under Recipes