Notes from Our Weekend

Thrifted Typewriter
pig tails
cookies
IMG_1551
appetizer
me
The number of weekend days we’ve spent in our new house relaxing and being productive in that purely enjoyable weekend way, we can count on one hand I think. But today marked the end of the last big project (the roof) and therefore, hopefully, a bit of relaxation. Just a few images of this weekend….
:: a thrifted typewriter for the boys
:: a girl in pig tails for the first time! (why didn’t you tell me it’s so fun to have a girl?)
:: my virgo-ness meets my holiday cookie obsession and results in exactly 2″ square cookies
:: very fancy weekend appetizers with a very fancy martini (local gin, we sacrifice for local eating/drinking you know)
:: just arrived christmas cards around the big mirror and little boys behind me cutting snowflakes. a very good day.
(just realized that this picture of me looks exactly like the one to the left. that was three + years ago and i’m still going without shampoo…should write about that more some day)

11 Comments

Filed under our weekends

11 responses to “Notes from Our Weekend

  1. You’re a very pretty lady. And, YES! little girls in pigtails are the funnest!!

  2. Michelle

    Wonderful pictures of a wonderful weekend -I hope more of your weeks are like this!

  3. little girl pigtails are the cutest !

  4. Looks lovely and relaxing. Except for the cookies, which look a little . . . precise to be relaxing.

  5. Mandy G

    Speaking of going without shampoo. I’m pretty much addicted to your blog these days and am slowly gathering/ordering the necessary supplies to make various items that you have posted here (i.e. lotions, deoderant, chapstick). In regular obession fashion I began my no shampoo venture this weekend; however, last night I used the water/baking soda rinse last night. I didn’t notice anything major while my hair was wet but once it dried it was a gritty mess. It felt horrible to the touch and was hard to brush. I didn’t add any conditioner after the rinse and that may need to be a step I add in although I was hoping to completely move away from commercial hair products. My mixture was 2.5 tablespoons to 2 cups of water. Do you think adding more water to delute would help with this problem? I just hated the way my hair felt after–not sure I could stick with it if this is the norm. Thanks!

    • asonomagarden

      Hi Mandy, thanks for your note! For the hair, next time, try a weaker dilution of baking soda. More like 1T. baking soda to 1.5c. water. Then after you rinse your hair with that, pour a 50:50 solution vinegar to water solution over your hair. That should help a bit. Still there will be a little bit of grittiness for the next week or two. Then you should be in the clear. Hope that helps!

      • Mandy G

        Thank you so much for such a prompt reply! I will delute my mixture and use the vinegar/water solution as well. I can definitely deal with the gritty feeling as long as I know it won’t last forever!

  6. Ah, sigh. Looks like you had such a nice weekend! And I’m glad your roof is done. That is HUGE.

  7. oh, yum! btw, you look mahvelous, dahling!

  8. I’ve just discovered your blog & I’m SMITTEN. As a writer, I am so digging the typewriter. As mom to an almost-3-year-old, I remember the joy of 1st pigtails & (recently) braids. As a person who has recently moved to your neck of the woods, I am in awe of the beauty & your photos. As a vegetarian, I share the passion for organically grown everything. And I, too, appreciate & love to explore things homemade & handcrafted. Love, love, love.

  9. Mel

    I have been off shampoo and conditioner for a year now, partly because of your blog and few others that have talked about it. Thank you!! My hair looks and feels great, more body than I ever had before as well.

Leave a Reply

